Is exercise a good method of catharsis?

I ask myself this question regularly. Can we actually find peace when we are moving? I often hear people saying that they need exercise. It’s their church, the place where they find their flow. 
Last year around my birthday, Bronwyn asked me if I ever plan to fulfill my dream of completing an Ironman. You see, ever since I was a schoolboy, I had this morbid fascination with the Ironman distance. Being the mindful partner that she is, she remembers things like this. She also realizes that I’m not getting any younger, so without hesitation, she said I should go for it. 
In pursuit of perfect parenting, she seldom misses a step. We have 4 kids, and training for an Ironman event takes significant sacrifices. She knew this and still encouraged. Did the first few months of training with me, just in case I lacked the ‘motivation’ needed. I have completed the training, registered and sit on the eve of a life long dream, but also one of the biggest physical challenges. I hope to complete it, not just for my own goals, but also to honor her and to show my kids that the impossible is likely when your spirit is strong, your body is well prepared and your mind can imagine it.
Back to the original question, is exercise a good method of catharsis? I think the answer lies in the direction you are looking. If you are running away from something, it’s almost always going to catch you, but if you run towards something, you can find the most amazing peace. 

Leave a comment